Tokyo Guide > Tokyo Sightseeing > Shopping Malls > Tokyo Midtown

Tokyo Midtown 東京ミッドタウン Shopping Malls / Roppongi

12 Reviews

Add Photos Tell a Friend Bookmark Print Version Send to Phone

acolonnese


  • Tokyo Midtown
  • (2019-09-02)
  • Useful (0)
  • Flag as Innappropiate

guitargirl


  • Tokyo Midtown
  • (2014-06-26)
  • One stop place to dine, shop, stay at the Ritz- buy Japanese souvenirs, sake, and have afternoon tea! Great place to spend a cool afternoon on a hot summer day!
  • Useful (0)
  • Flag as Innappropiate

muffin


  • Tokyo Midtown
  • (2011-08-18)
  • Nice place to go when the weather outside is bad. The restaurants upstairs in the Galleria were too expensive and the restaurants in the basement were too crowded, but I managed to find a nice quiet nook to have a small sandwich and iced tea at the Idee Shop which had a great view of people coming and going. Found a ton of presents for people which was fun.
  • Useful (0)
  • Flag as Innappropiate

tokyo lady


  • Tokyo Midtown
  • (2010-10-19)
  • A comfortable and spacious facility which includes a 24 hour supermarket and Dean & Deluca in the basement. It is wonderful to visit around Christmas when they have all of the lights (Exit through the basement to get to the park).
  • Useful (0)
  • Flag as Innappropiate

deeverted


  • Tokyo Midtown
  • (2010-03-21)
  • Adore this place. Can be perceived as a bit pretentious at first, but you can do all from shopping, have a glass of wine, indulge with the various chocolatiers, and great dinners at Tokyo Midtown. Classy, aesthetically pleasing, and peaceful, I come here to buy my gifts or just relax and unwind.
  • Useful (0)
  • Flag as Innappropiate

enigmatic


  • Tokyo Midtown
  • (2009-01-28)
  • It's taller than Roppongi Hills by a couple of meters. Who says size doesn't matter? While they may not have the city night view (the top floors are obscenely expensive condos, not tourist attractions), they do have some great bars/restaurants in the area. It's only a night spot if you like taking walks in the park or having a relaxing glass of wine at a restaurant. The only club-like atmosphere you'll find is at A-971 (which is choc full of depressed finance people, these days). Luxury shopping and the same basic amenities you find in Roppongi Hills, minus the theater.
  • Useful (0)
  • Flag as Innappropiate

hana


  • Tokyo Midtown
  • (2008-11-29)
  • I am not keen on here, we have too much shopping centre in Tokyo!! I am getting bored of it.
    But some events are pretty cool!
    They invited Enya for Xmas light up celemony.WoW!
    Also they had Festival France Glamour, and invited Sebastien Tellier and Pauline Croze and free gig!!( WoW WoW!), so it is worth to keep your eyes open!!Range of shops are fairly reasonable compared with Roppongi hills.
    If you like shopping, it is good place to see.
  • Useful (0)
  • Flag as Innappropiate

Stephe


  • Tokyo Midtown, Roppongi
  • (2008-11-20)
  • Midtown, located a 10-minute walk from Roppongi and situated directly over the Oedo-line Roppongi station, is the newest addition to the rebirth of Roppongi that is now in progress. Contained in this area, the size of a city block, is several floors of excellent shopping, including one floor mostly dedicated to home furnishings; excellent cooking shops including a Dean and Deluca and ABC Cooking School (mentioned in another review here); gorgeous park area; and many excellent restaurants. Perfect for a date, hanging with friends, or a leisurely afternoon of alone time.
  • Useful (0)
  • Flag as Innappropiate

studebaker


  • Tokyo Midtown
  • (2008-11-18)
  • MidTown has a lot of cool stuff in it:
    A cooking school with drop in classes; a pet grooming center where you can watch dogs getting groomed, a food court with lots of selection, a971, with 500 yen beers in a classy environment; lots of restaurant choices; some really exciting shopping (such as the world's most expensive chocolatier) and the Ritz Carlton, which is the home of what might be the most expensive martini ever (it comes with a diamond). The gardens out back are a great place to relax in the summer and enjoy an outdoor cinema (in august I believe) The whole building is architecturally interesting and hosts many exciting cultural and artistic events.
  • Useful (0)
  • Flag as Innappropiate

zaou


  • Lush greenery. beautiful. good date place?
  • (2008-10-11)
  • Pure love!! looking at the map of the area located at the entrance of the park, it stretched in an L-shape around the area.

    I didn't actually go inside the complex, but enjoyed the massive parks instead. i'm pretty sure i was in hinakicho park, since i didn't see a basketball court (which i hear is in midtown garden). there were some futuristic looking art pieces sitting in the middle of the lawn, the construction of a new dome, a cafe that a lot of couples were dining in, a nice view of tokyo tower, and overall a nice park to visit. i didn't see a lot of trees, more grass, but i could've been in the wrong area. i rather liked it, though, since the feel of bug life wasn't heavy.
  • Useful (0)
  • Flag as Innappropiate

William


  • Tokyo Midtown
  • (2007-07-07)
  • It is a nice Thursday afternoon in downtown Tokyo, not too hot and neither raining. We visited the just finished and opened Tokyo Midtown Complex located around the Premium Akasaka and Roppongi Area of downtown Tokyo. The first thing that will surprise you when you reach the complex is how high classed the place is designed and fashioned. Entering through the front entrance you feel like being in a very expensive hotel lobby, instead of a shopping mall complex. There are three floors with different fashion shops and a basement where a foreign food supermarket and other restaurants are located. On the second floor there is a smoking lounge and beside it, a 3 floor tall window with a spectacular view of Tokyo downtown. At the supermarket at the basement, we also found a surprising selection of foreign foods. I was especially surprised at the variety of cheese. Foreigner cheese lovers can certainly find something special at this supermarket. On top of that, although the other stores in Midtown close at night, this supermarket is opened 24 hours!

    Although this is a nice place to visit in Tokyo, you have to bring a lot of money (from a student point of view) with you to enjoy the fine stores and restaurants it houses. If you are not particularly well off, visiting this place is not recommended. Otherwise, enjoy the fine food and good shopping!
  • Useful (0)
  • Flag as Innappropiate

Nico


  • Tokyo Midtown
  • (2007-06-23)
  • Tokyo midtown opened its doors in March 2007 and added the third leg to what has been called the art triangle of roppongi (the other two legs are the the National Art Center and the Mori Arts Center at Roppongi Hills).

    Whereas Roppongi Hills is futuristic and boasts a design full of glass and metal, Tokyo Midtown is more quiet and focuses on green spaces and incorporating wood into the architecture (there's plenty of glass though). The massive complex encompasses a main tower and four adjoining smaller buildings that house the Suntory Art Museum, the Ritz-Carlton Hotel, a medical center, a design center and gallery, luxury apartments, office space, and numerous shops, restaurants and cafes. Tokyo Midtown also has three gardens, one of which is designed in the traditional Japanese style with some seating available to bring your bento box with you.

    The architecture at Tokyo Midtown is worth a visit alone. The use of natural light and wood makes for a very pleasant experience inside the building, while one can browse lots of art showcased both inside and in the parks (be sure to check out the children's playground...it almost looks like art too!).

    One of the main pulls at Tokyo Midtown is the arts, and they routinely host musicians and art shows. Furthermore, you can visit the Suntory art museum or the 21-21 design sight gallery.

    The shopping area spans over three floors, two of which focus mostly on clothing and a third that focuses on interior design and furniture. The basement floor (which receives natural light!) has a wide variety of food stores that range from a fruit boutique to the famous pastry shop Sudaharu Aoki and the New York grocery store Dean & Delucca. There's plenty of restaurants available, and if the weather is nice I'd highly recommend to get something to go and head to the park.

    The towers are designed with environmentalism in mind, and some of Tokyo midtown's features include using rainwater and kitchen wastewater to flush the toilets, a highly efficient energy-regulation system that minimizes consumption and gardens on the roofs to insulate the buildings better.

    Together with Roppongi Hills, Tokyo Midtown is one of the most amazing complexes in Tokyo and is definitely worth a visit. Since they are so close to each other, I would recommend visiting them both and then comparing their different styles.
  • Useful (0)
  • Flag as Innappropiate
Feedback Form